Skip to content

Ensemble

May 19, 2012

I was so excited to try this restaurant out as there was so much buzz about it before it opened.  Opened by Top Chef Canada winner, Dale Mckay, Ensemble was known to have great potential.  For the first 6 months of it’s open, the restaurant was fully booked so I wanted to wait until it settled down for a bit before we went.

Four of us went to try out what we expected to be an above par restaurant  that had moderately higher prices.  I actually briefly looked at the menu prior to going and I can’t say I was impressed with Chef Dale’s creations – nonetheless, I had expectations that the creations would taste great.

There aren’t many good things that I can say about ensemble. The restaurant was very dark, practically everything was black even the staff attire. Almost none of the staff smiled – our server looked like he was having a bad day. It literally looked like they all had come back from a funeral. Then to top that off, the food was way under par.  It was as if the dishes were put together in a rush and there was no taste-testing.  Plus many of the ingredients weren’t fresh, and it each dish was quite sparse – which made me feel that this restaurant was trying to maximize it’s profit by charging inflated prices for cheap ingredients.  And for the most part, the food was overdone. Was a true disappointment.

I’ve noticed the menu has changed a bit so that’s a good thing. Would I go back? – atleast not for a long while until they clean up a bit. Truth is, if they don’t clean up, they’re going to have to clear out because that quality for Chef Mckay’s reputation and that price won’t cut it in Vancouver.

850 Thurlow Street  Vancouver, BC V6E 1W2 (604) 569-1770

Dinner only Tues – Sunday 5-11pm, lunch for private parties only

From → Dining

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    I agree. My experience was disappointing as well.

Leave a Reply

