Skip to content

Kedah House Restaurant & Cafe- possibly the simplest restaurant in Vancouver

August 28, 2011
Kedah Store Front

Thought we would go to Kedah Malaysian restaurant since we were driving along Marine Drive in Vancouver.  We’ve been to Kedah several times, even when it was on Fraser Street years ago.  Their food was good and authentic Malaysian.  And the prices were extremely reasonable.  But I admit, it has been a couple of years since I last went.  So I was excited to go back and have their food again.

I was impressed at how busy it was for a Sunday.  That was reassuring.  As we were walking by the table, we noticed 2 regular size table – those foldable tables that you can buy at Costco – each table had what seemed like a small buffet of food: one was of limited dinner food and the other table was for dessert, coffee and cutlery.

I thought, maybe these were sides that you get when you order your meal.  So we sat down waiting for our server to bring us our menus.  I was hungry, and the server still hadn’t come by, so I went to him and asked for a menu.  He then says to me, “No menu.  It’s all buffet and is what’s on these 2 tables.

Are you flippin’ kidding me?!, I say in silence.  I came for some Malaysian style “Tong Choi” (Chinese water spinach), green beans and some  nice satays…just how I liked it before….he’s not serious...

Yip.  He was serious.  He didn’t look like the type to kid around. 

Flabbergasted, I stood there staring at him, while he stared back at me.   I was speechless, motionless for about 6 seconds when he said something like , “We do sell chicken satays…9 for $6 and roti”.  I didn’t quite hear it as I was still in shock.

I never walk out of restaurants, but I was really wanting to walk out of this one until hubby suggested we stay and give it a chance.  Hey, I’m all about hole-in-the-wall restaurants, but atleast have some variety right?  And plus, I wanted a no carb, somewhat healthy meal.  So fine, we ventured to the buffet (folding) table and grabbed what was supposed to be there.  The shaving dishes were next to empty.  Only thing left were some noodles (Mee Goreng), a few pieces of deep fried chicken, cucumbers and a few pieces of Romain lettuce and tomatoes.  Oh yes, and a huge pot of chicken rice.  So we took what we could, like it was a soup kitchen.

We had to go up a few times for food as the server was refilling the dishes, but fortunately, the food was pretty good.  I really had no expectations.  Although the variety was quite limited, the food was still very authentic.  And you can’t ask for too much for a $9.99 buffet.  Really, in the end, I had a great time – actually more like an amusing time.  I would actually consider going back some time. 

Enjoy the pics, and try to imagine what your thoughts would be if it was you there and you were me.

Honestly, if you’re looking to stretch your dollar or you don’t want to spend so much on a good meal, then I recommend this restaurant.  Caution to those who don’t like spicy food because most of the food can really burn.  Oh yes, 2 more things, the coffee looked like a typically brewed (out of a bag) type – which it probably is.  But they add something to the coffee that puts a spin to it.  It’s very aromatic, almost like Vanilla, but it’s not Vanilla.  The server kept it a restaurant secret so I couldn’t find out.  So don’t forget to try the coffee.

Also, I reconfirmed with the server – the Chicken Satays that they sell separately are actually 6 for $9.

Hours of Operation:

Wed & Thurs 5pm – 9:30 pm & Fri, Sat & Sun 11:30 – 9:30.

1652 SE Marine Drive

From → Dining

One Comment
  1. phuspa permalink

    Thanks for the review

Leave a Reply

