Skip to content

The Truth about Cats & Dogs – response

October 31, 2010

 

Had a couple of people sending me a reply to my first pet blog and I thought it was worth sharing.

1st comment from Pamela who rescues small dogs from various dire situations and fosters them until they are ready to be adopted out:

“Great blog….. 

I think it is important for people to realize that pregnant cats & dogs DO get euthanized if the dog is out of time, and the shelter is full. New born puppies and kittens will get euthanized with their mom if their moms time is up at the shelter. Just because they are cute and are babies, doesn’t guarantee their life. We see countless litters of cats and dogs posted on Facebook, and rescues try to save them, but we can’t save them all.
When people surrender their pets in the USA, those animals are the first to be put onto the kill list. Highly adoptable household pets, ones that are used to comfy beds, and good food, are essentially thrown into hell. 
People WANT to believe another family will come along and love their pet. The trouble is, in some shelters the animals are given only 120 hours to find another home before they are killed. Stray animals have a longer hold period, as they hope the owner will be out looking for them. So, it is important for people to know that dogs have about a 50% adoption/rescue rate in the USA, and cats only have about a 2% adoption/rescue rate. 
My wish is that people really could understand the suffering, trauma and stress that their pet goes through with separation, and just being in the shelter environment. I think people want to believe their pet is happy, and will find a loving home. But, here we are (rescues) working our asses off, and crying our eyes out when dogs and cats don’t make it out. Where is the owners? I wish they could see the suffering, and be there when their dog/cat gets euthanized. 
There has been quite a few un-ethical shelters where we believe the abuse was so rampant that they were probably heart sticking dogs, in front of other dogs. There was a rescue, in a kennel with a dog in a shelter in North Carolina (ROBESON…. a horrid hell hole), and while she was in tending to a dog, she heard a dog screaming, and a shelter working yelling DIE YOU SON OF A BITCH. They had the dog up in a catch pole, were using it as a noose, and were stabbing the dog in the heart with a heart stick. Sometimes heartsticking doesn’t work the first time, and the dog needs to be stabbed numerous times before they are dead. We have all worked to get the shelter manager fired, and he ended up taking a transfer. There was an interim manager and now a new one. North and South Carolina shelters are really bad. 
There is a man… I can’t remember his name, as I want to block it out. But, do a google search. They call him Dr. Death. He travels around the USA with the gas chambers he sells, he picks up cats & dogs from shelters to place into the gas chambers, when he is doing his demonstrations. He generally brings along 6 animals with him to show his potential customers how to kill animals, and tries really hard to make a sale. 
Anyway, I hope some of this information helped. There is a cold hard reality to why everyone should adopt from shelters. 
I am so proud about our own city banning the sale of animals in pet stores. Perhaps, they can move into re-homing rescued animals instead. 
Education is key, free or subsidized spay & neuter clinics would be a start. “
 
Here is another one I thought was so moving sent by Rochelle.  The author is unknown.  Everyone should print this out and frame it on their wall or give it as a gift to pet owners.  It is such a great reminder of how we should be more conscious with our own pets.  Be careful, this is a tear-jerker!
 
A PET’S TEN COMMANDMENTS
. My life is likely to last 10-15 years.
    Any separation from you is likely to be painful. 2. Give me time to understand what you want of me.

3. Place your trust in me. It is crucial for my well-being.

4. Don’t be angry with me for long and don’t lock me up as
    punishment. You have your work, your friends, your
    entertainment, but I have only you.

5. Talk to me. Even if I don’t understand your words, I do
     understand your voice when speaking to me.

6. Be aware that however you treat me, I will never forget it.

7. Before you hit me, before you strike me, remember that
    I could hurt you, and yet, I choose not to bite you.

8. Before you scold me for being lazy or uncooperative,
    ask yourself if something might be bothering me.
    Perhaps I’m not getting the right food, I have been in
    the sun too long, or my heart might be getting old or weak.
9. Please take care of me when I grow old.
    You too, will grow old.

10 On the ultimate difficult journey, go with me please, 
     never say you can’t bear to watch. Don’t make me face
     this alone. Everything is easier for me if you are there,
     because I love you so.

Thank you ladies!

 

This is young Precious, a tan and white chihuahua that was up for adoption at Camarillo Shelter in L.A. on Oct 25th, 2010. Precious was put down Oct 29, 2010 because this shelter has a strict 5 day euthanization rule. ALL pets are euthanized on it's 6th day of placement at the shelter. Is this not enough reason to stop the breeding and sale of pets?!

To see the Part 1 of this post, please click here.

From → Anything else

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

