Skip to content

The Cove – A jolting reality of human destruction

May 9, 2010

Last night, I coerced my friends to watch The Cove with me on video.  Thanks to my tele- mentor, Oprah, I found out about this.  Thanks to the courage of a handful of people who risked their safety to participate and produce this film, this movie has created so much awareness around the world.  This documentary was produced to expose the atrocities occurring in Taiji, Japan each and every year.  The Cove captures the perfect implementation of the team’s (noted below) plan to expose this dirty secret of  Taiji.  They reveal how over 20,000 dolphins are caught each year; a very small percentage are sold to aquariums from around the world, and the rest are slaughtered for food.  The explicit scenes caught on video and the sacrifices that were made to create this documentary is what earned the team their academy award. 

I seriously could not believe my eyes.  I was watching dolphins get slaughtered.  Not that there is any method of killing that can justify the murders, but these dolphins were getting speared.  Horrific….that is the word that comes to mind.  And it breaks my heart to know that this slaughter is happening in Japan, a country who’s culture I adore.  It’s hard not to change my point of view about Japan.  It’s not directly the government’s fault.  But they certainly knew about it and they made a decision to overlook this.  Do I hold them totally accountable?  Do I even hold those fishermen totally accountable?  The last thing I want to play is the blame game, but who is at fault really?  The reality is almost everyone has a share in accountability (although some take a bigger piece of the accountability pie than others).  Again, this is not about pointing fingers.  But I admit I am partially responsible for this.  I’m ashamed to say I went to an aquarium and enjoyed the Whales and Dolphins performing.  Heck, I even paid mega-money to swim with a dolphin.  Did I know that it was unethical?  No.  But do I acknowledge now that I indirectly and unknowingly contributed to these dolphin hunts?  Yes.  And how about you?  Or someone you know?  Did you ever watch a show, or swam with dolphins, or was a fan of Flipper?  I’m not trying to make anyone feel guilty by any means.  What I am saying that is most of us contributed to this in some ways.  And we need to have more foresight in our actions.  Because, everything we do…I mean EVERYTHING…creates some sort of ripple effect. Things like this is just simple economics….Demand and Supply.  The more demand there is, the bigger the market to meet your demands.  And since we are responsible, somewhat, to this, then we can be responsible for stopping this.  So next questions is what can we do to reverse this?

 Most importantly, don’t ignore this issue.  Now that you know, there is no turning back.  You must take action.  I’m not asking you to fly to Taiji and cut the nets that are trapping the dolphins.  I’m asking you, no… I’m pleading for you to do something.  First, WATCH THE MOVIE  (The Cove).  Some scenes are unbearable, but you need to see the truth.  Write a letter, send an email, speak up.  Send messages to the Japanese government and ask them to ban dolphin killing.  Send a message to the aquariums, and let them know you will not see any shows that involve dolphins/whales.  Support the organization by visiting their website.  Donate if you can.  Spread the word.

Final thoughts:  I really need to give credit to the brilliant team who stopped at nothing to make sure there even was a movie.  Thank you Ric O’Barry for devoting the majority of your life to this mission.  You are a true hero.  Thank you Louie Psihoyos for having the faith in Ric and his story to direct this film.  Thank you to the entire team for the relentless determination, the risks that you took in Taiji, to see this project through.  Eternally greatful.

Please send me a comment!

http://www.thecovemovie.com/

http://savejapandolphins.org/

http://www.opsociety.org/

Photo courtesy of Sea Shepherd Conservation Society

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

